RtF is a meritocracy that allows anyone to learn, increase their skills, and rise to the top of the areas they work in.

Gregg Vanderheiden

Gregg Vanderheiden

RtF President and Co-Director more >

Jutta Treviranus

Jutta Treviranus

RtF Secretary and Co-Director more >

Patrick roe portrait

Patrick Roe

RtF Treasurer more >

Eva de Lera

Eva de Lera

Executive Director and European Program Manager more >

Technological Advisory Board

The Technological Advisory Board helps guide the organization technically, to ensure the system keeps updated, secure and scalable.

Early participants

Raising the Floor needs, and has attracted, a wide range of different people and organizations from across the spectrum. Participants include consumers, developers, researchers, practitioners, policy people, vendors and manufactures large and small, mainstream and assistive technology. They are located across the globe on every continent except Antarctica.

Some of the early participants and supporters of the Raising the Floor effort include:

  • Jan Alexandersson (DFKI)
  • Aries Arditi (Lighthouse International)
  • Chieko Asakawa (IBM Research)
  • Jeff Bigham (University of Rochester)
  • Alan W. Black (Carnegie Mellon Univ., Language Technologies Institute)
  • Cathy Bodine (U of Colorado, Coleman Institute for Cognitive Disabilities)
  • David Boloker (IBM, CTO – Emerging Technology Group)
  • Yevgen Borodin (Charmtech Labs LLC)
  • Judy Brewer (WAI W3C)
  • Paul Budde (BuddeComm)
  • Sheryl Burgstahler (Univ. of Washington)
  • Ben Caldwell (Trace Center University of Wisconsin – Madison)
  • Kevin Carey (RNIB UK Humanity)
  • Vint Cerf (Google)
  • Charles Chen (Google – Fire Vox)
  • Wendy Chisholm (Consultant)
  • Curtis Chong (NFB)
  • Bill Coleman (Alsop Louie Partners)
  • Frank DeRuyter (Duke University AAC RERC)
  • Roberto Ellero (International Webmasters Association / HTML Writers Guild)
  • Pier Luigi Emiliani (Director Institute of Applied Physics, NRC, Italy)
  • Neal Ewers (Ravenswood Productions)
  • Lainey Feingold (Law Office of Lainey Feingold)
  • Jim Fruchterman (Benetech)
  • Krzysztof Gajos (Harvard University)
  • Larry Goldberg (WGBH)
  • Elena Gómez (Technosite)
  • Jon Gunderson (University of Illinois – Urbana-Champaign)
  • Vicki Hanson (IBM and Univ. of Dundee)
  • Dale Hatfield (Silicon Flat Irons)
  • Katie Haritos-Shea (Consultant)
  • Chris Hofstader (Consultant)
  • Steve Jacobs (Ideal)
  • Simon Judge (OATSoft)
  • Hiroshi Kawamura (DAISY Consortium)
  • Maureen Kaine-Krolak (Consultant)
  • George Kerscher (Recordings for the Blind and Dyslexic)
  • Matt King (IBM)
  • Peter Korn (Oracle & AEGIS)
  • Richard Ladner (Univ. of Washington)
  • Axel Leblois (G3ICT The Global Initiative for Inclusive ICTs)
  • Seongil Lee (Sungkyunkwan University – Korea)
  • Steve Lee (OATSoft)
  • Clayton Lewis (U of Colorado, Coleman Institute for Cognitive Disabilities)
  • Larry L. Lewis Jr. (Flying Blind)
  • Mats Lundälv (DART, AEGIS, OATSoft and Conceptcoding.org)
  • Jamal Mazrui (FCC)
  • Joseph McNulty (Helen Keller National Center)
  • Martin McKay (TextHelp)
  • Olivier Nzepa (University of Yaounde – Cameroon)
  • Mari Ostendorf (Univ. of Washington)
  • Ed Price (Georgia Tech)
  • TV Raman (Google)
  • P.L. Patrick Rau (Inst of Human Factors & Ergo. , Dept of Indust. Engr. Tsinghua University, China)
  • Emmanuelle Gutiérrez y Restrepo (Fundación Sidar)
  • Brad Ruderman (Accenture)
  • Martin Sabry (aIdeas)
  • Janina Sajka (Consultant)
  • Roberto Scano (International Webmasters Association / HTML Writers Guild)
  • Richard Schwerdtfeger (IBM)
  • Andrew Sears (UMBC)
  • Lisa Seeman (UBAccess)
  • Jo Ann Simons (Cardinal Cushing Centers)
  • Ragnar H. Simonsen (Center for Assisitive Technology (SIKTE), Norway)
  • Rob Sinclair (Microsoft)
  • Hironobu Takagi (IBM Research)
  • Jim Tobias (Inclusive Technologies)
  • Jutta Treviranus (U of Toronto Adaptive Technology Resource Centre)
  • Gianna Tsakou (Singular Logic)
  • Dimitrios Tzovaras (Informatics and Telematics Institute – CERTH, Greece)
  • José Ángel Martínez Usero (INREDIS Project)
  • Gregg Vanderheiden (Trace Center University of Wisconsin – Madison)
  • Karel Van Isacker (PhoenixKM BVBA)
  • Konstantinos Votis (Informatics and Telematics Institute – CERTH, Greece)
  • Will Walker (Oracle)
  • Jerry Weisman (Assistive Technology Solutions)
  • Norman Williams (Gallaudet University)
  • Denise Wood (University of South Australia)
  • Shigeru Yamauchi (Assistive Technology Development Organization)
  • Jerry Zhu (UW Madison Computer Science (text to picture))
  • Gottfried Zimmermann (Media University Stuttgart)


NOTE: Since this list was compiled by combining lists we are sure there are errors. If you spot an error please let us know by sending an email to info@raisingthefloor.org and put [Participation] in the subject line.